Skip to content

HIPPOCRATIC OATH translated from the original Greek text

June 10, 2012


HIPPOCRATIC OATH

 

I call upon  Apollo as healer,  Asclepias, Hygeia and Panaceia,  and  all the  gods and goddesses, making them  my judges, that I will fulfill to the  best  of my  power and discernment this oath and this accord;

 

That I will  hold him who taught me this art as equal to my  parents, that I wilt share  his life, that I will share my  resources with him when  he is in need, that I will hold his progeny  as equal  to my  brothers and teach them  this  art, if they ask to learn, without fee or contract, that I will share  new instruction and  lecture and all the  remaining teachings with  my sons and  with the  sons  of my teacher and  with students who have been bound by contract and oath of medical  law, but  with no other.

 

I also will apply rules of life for the  benefit  of the sick according to my power and discernment to ward off  harm and  injustice.

 

 

I will not ever give a deadly drug, even  if someone has asked for it, nor  will I give instruction in this  matter; likewise I will not  give abortive treatment to a woman; purely  and  according to the laws of  nature will I oversee my  life and  my art.

 

 

I will not use the knife, not even on those with stones, but will leave it to practitioners of this  skill.

 

Into  whatever houses I may  go, I will enter for  the  benefit of the  sick, being free from  all willful injustice and  any  other  destructive action, or seductive behavior towards the  forms of women, free men  or slaves.

 

 

Whatever I see or hear in the course of treatment or outside of treatment concerning the  life of a patron, which must not  be bruited about, I will not speak  of, holding such things to  be private.

 

While I fulfill my oath and  do not  violate it, may I reap  the  joys of  life and art and  be glorified  by men for all time; should I fall short may the  opposite be my fate.

 

 

 

Translated from the Original Greek  text

by Caroline Grey Ganz

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

